IMG_0521

I have just closed the book on Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. OMG! What a superb read. My mind is still swimming in all the magnificent viperish details. What an ingenious thriller… twisted and wild and yet romantic. Catastrophically romantic. What a fcuked-up couple! There are quite a few movies and TV series that make me want to step inside to kill the slimeballs, but this is the first time I want to do the same for a book. What a b*tch! A fcuking psycho b*tch! I want to stab her 100 times with a penknife but yet I also feel like kneeling before her to caress and kiss her feet. What a brilliant character!

On the day of their fifth wedding anniversary, Nick’s wife Amy disappears. There are signs of struggle in the house and Nick quickly becomes the prime suspect. It doesn’t help that Nick hasn’t been completely honest with the police and, as Amy’s case drags out for weeks, more and more vilifying evidence appears against him. Nick, however, maintains his innocence.

Marriage is a killer.

We have all heard that before. Gillian Flynn takes the age-old notion into pure toxic wasteland in this story. The story is told in alternating voices and your sympathy for the two characters will change like the tides. It is a deliciously wicked pleasure to read a novel about the dark side of marriage. The prose is acerbic, twisted, clever, witty, dark and cerebrally absorbing. I had trouble getting interested in the first act because it is a detailing of a typical marriage heading for a car crash. However the second act changed all that. It was a complete mindfcuk… I was literally fcuked left-right-centre in my head and realized that Flynn had purposefully purposed her first act in that all too familiar fashion.

The second act completely subverts my expectations and everything that has happened in the first act is double entendre territory. The final act is just surprise after surprise… A double-edged revenge. My missus wasn’t quite impressed with the ending and I can understand that. We had a nice discussion of it last night and I shared why there’s such poignancy and eloquence in the final denouement. Once you can free yourself from the notion that “crime does not pay”, there are so many ways to play the narrative game and who is to say she got away scot-free.

Right now, I have embarked on A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife. The synopsis interestingly reads almost the same as Gone Girl. Would be nice to compare both. But of course Gone Girl would lose out to The Silent Wife‘s sad mythical status – the author has passed away just after her debut novel was published.

PS – I am sorry for the expletives but the messed up Gone Girl absolutely warrants it.

